Various - Ann Arbor Blues Festival 1969 (Deluxe Edition) 4xLP


Sold Out

Label: Third Man

Limited edition set includes Volumes 1 and 2.

The Ann Arbor Blues Festival 1969 collection is a powerful document of a historic gathering featuring, among others, Howlin' Wolf, Muddy Waters, B.B. King, James Cotton, Son House, Magic Sam, T-Bone Walker, Junior Wells, Big Mama Thornton, Clifton Chenier, Son House, Mississippi Fred McDowell, Lightnin' Hopkins, Pinetop Perkins, J. B. Hutto & His Hawks, Roosevelt Sykes, Luther Allison, Otis Rush, Big Joe Williams, and Charlie Musselwhite. The first ever release of music recorded live at the landmark event, Ann Arbor Blues Festival 1969 will be available in two individual 2xLP volumes, and this deluxe 4xLP box set edition.

Produced by Parker Fishel and Jim Fishel, the Ann Arbor Blues Festival 1969 was coordinated by Third Man co-founders Ben Blackwell and Ben Swank. Both volumes include never-before-seen photographs, artist biographies, an exclusive reminiscence from Jim Fishel, and extensive liner notes by Parker Fishel, Sophie Abramowitz and David Beal. The set will also be available in this special edition featuring two single-color (one blue, one red) printed jackets with complementary colored vinyl, a 58-page perfect bound book with transparent vellum inserts and a short recollection from festival organizer John Fishel, die-cut reproductions of his original festival booking notes, a full-size reproduction of Jim Fishel's festival program on newsprint paper that includes nearly every artists' signature, a reproduction of the original festival tickets on various colored papers and a reprint of the original festival poster on silver metallic paper. The package will also include 13 reproductions of original news articles and ads on newsprint paper housed in a hand-stamped envelope. All of this will be packaged in a telescoping box printed on the same silver metallic paper as the poster reproduction with poster art on the cover.