Zorro Five - Jump Uptight LP


Label: Matsuli Music

Release Date: August 28th, 2020

Zorro Five were a South African studio band comprising Johnny Boshoff (bass), Archie van der Ploeg (guitar), Tony Moore (drums), Johnny Fourie (guitar) and Zane Cronje (keyboard and organ). They won the "Best Beat Group" at the 1971 South African Recording Industry Award for the album Jump Uptight. The single "Reggae Shhh!" b/w "Reggae Meadowlands" was an underground hit in the UK and Italy. Underground Mod Obscurity from South Africa. South African take on the London Beat scene, mixing British beat, R&B, reggae and funk.

More from this label: