Phew - New Decade LP


Sold Out

Label: Mute

Limited edition clear vinyl version.

The renowned avant-garde artist Phew has returned to Mute for her forthcoming album. New Decade. Working within the medium of voice and analog electronics, New Decade's six tracks define Phew as a master of her craft - fusing her ghostly vocals with intense droning textures and clamorous guitar feedback.

Described by Pitchfork as "a Japanese underground legend," she was a founding member of Osaka avant-punk band Aunt Sally, who broke up in 1980. Since then she has worked solo and collaborated with an incredible list of musical luminaries including Ryuichi Sakamoto, Jim O’Rourke, Ana da Silva (The Raincoats), Seiichi Yamamoto (Boredoms), Holger Czukay (Can) and producer Conny Plank (Neu!, Cluster, Harmonia). Her 1992 album for Mute, Our Likeness, features Alexander Hacke (Hackedepicciotto, Einstrürzende Neubauten), Jaki Liebezeit (Can) and Chrislo Haas (Crime & the City Solution, DAF, Liaisons Dangereuses).