Sun Ra and His Intergalactic Research Arkestra - Paradiso Amsterdam 1970 2xLP


Sold Out

Label: Nederlands Jazz Archief

Limited edition of 500 copies. Includes 28-page booklet of liner notes and rare photos. Released in association with the Sun Ra Estate.

Space is the place! That classic piece – in a historically early version without lyrics – opens the album Paradiso Amsterdam 1970, which shows how the Netherlands was first introduced to Afrofuturism. A pivotal moment in the Dutch jazz experience.

It was always thought that the recordings of the long-awaited first concert that the Sun Ra Arkestra gave in the Netherlands were useless for an album release. After all, the entire Arkestra, booked by Hans Dulfer, marched among the massive crowd at pop temple Paradiso on November 18th 1970. As was their custom, they were rarely on stage where the microphones were neatly set up.

The Nederlands Jazz Archief traced the complete set of recording tapes and compiled an album on which the atmosphere of 53 years ago is immediately tangible.

The line up: Sun Ra with John Gilmore, Marshall Allen, Danny Ray Thompson, Pat Patrick, Abshalom Ben Shlomo, Akh Tal Ebah, Kwame Hadi, Alan Silva, Alejandro Blake Fearon, Roger Aralamon Hazoumé, Math Samba, June Tyson, Ife Tayo, James Jackson, Robert Cummings, Leroy Taylor, Augustus Browning, Lex Humphries, Nimrod Hunt and Richard Wilkinson.